What's new

Writing proccess

I've been a freelance writer for almost 2 years now, but I still don't have a writing routine. So I was wondering if you could share some routine to make writing easier?

tyleralecia

I'm easily distracted so when I try to write, I know that I won't get far if I'm around loud people, my phone, my friends, or a TV. I also like to have a drink and some snacks near me, so I'm not tempted to get food. Depending on what I'm writing, I like to put on music at a low volume that will match the tone. Before I write anything, I always make an outline as well. And even if what I'm writing doesn't need a thesis statement, I make something of that sort before I start, so I can remember what the purpose of my piece is.

I've been a freelance writer for almost 2 years now, but I still don't have a writing routine. So I was wondering if you could share some routine to make writing easier?
like tyleralecia said getting distracted while writing is the biggest challenge to overcome. Personally,, when i write i try to find a quiet corner in the house where i can be alone and away from distractions. I keep only the relevant tabs and browser windows open to stay on path. Oh and i also make mental notes about what needs to be done before starting my writing session and then check them off one by one. I find that i am more productive late night and very early in the morning.

Thank you, your replies are highly appreciated. But I am more interested in a writing process itself. Meaning how do you do your research step-by-step, and how quick are you able to write let's say a 500-word article for some topics that you are no expert in. You probably had some of these throughout your career.

Akita