What's new

What sports do you think are most brain intensive?

JohnK

I would say baseball - it requires a lot of focus, and being able to stay still and watch for long periods, and then being able to spring into action and make quick decisions all at once. You have to be on your toes, both physically and mentally.

Sflom

I am a JV volleyball coach and I would definitely say that volleyball is as much a mental sport as it is a physical sport. It requires a lot of verbal communication, reading body language, and knowing where your teammates are on the court. Also, you have to be able to read a situation quickly and determine a course of action within seconds.

Whenever my players get down mentally, it really starts to mess with their level of energy and their success on the court.

I would say ping pong aka table tennis. Players have to make decisions in the blink of an eye because of the pace of the game, there's no time to think twice. Its also physically very demanding and an excellent indoors game for office environments.

Akita

Most sports involve a lot of strategic plays. In my experience, American football requires the most strategy out of all traditional physical sports.

ldlittle

I like some of the flow arts, such as hoop dance and poi that incorporate both sides of the body and really challenge the mind and body!

GermanBd

I would say ping pong aka table tennis. Players have to make decisions in the blink of an eye because of the pace of the game, there's no time to think twice. Its also physically very demanding and an excellent indoors game for office environments.
I am fully agreed. I am not saying that other games are not brained intensive but table tennis is the most I think. From my experience, military personnel all over the world play this game officially and daily.

Captain Obvious