What's new

Helping a Friend Going Through Depression

Nick90

I have a friend going through depression, something that I have some experience with myself. He's financially secure and has plenty of friends, but for some reason he has a very low self-esteem. He's getting professional help, but there are still days where I worry about him. He knows that he can reach out to me, but other than being there is there anything else I could be doing? I'd love to help him build his confidence, but I'm not sure if there's anything I can do. Any advice would be great.

chl0206

Hi! I also have a friend going through a similar situation. We've been friends since we were kids...more than 25 years, and it's really difficult to see her go through this. She has been dealing with postpartum depression for about a year and has recently started having some anxiety issues and panic attacks. She has finally started getting professional help.

As her friend, the hardest part as been that feeling of helplessness and really understanding that only she can make the decision to seek help and get better. However, I feel that one thing that has helped is just spending time with her and doing things we've always done together as friends: going to the movies, going out to eat, talking about life. I do think quality time makes a difference and helps people understand there are others in the world that care about them and their wellbeing.

I think building his confidence is something he will have to do on his own, But something you can try is to just listen without judgment. Since you have also been through depression, this seems like something you could provide your friend with. Let him know he's not alone and that you understand where he's coming from. The causes may be different, but I would imagine that experience is the same in a lot of ways. Knowing you are not alone can be a very powerful feeling.

laforth